Mentor/Mentee Retreat: Round 2

Mentor/Mentee Retreat: Round 2

This year I was able to attend the Mentor/Mentee Retreat for the second year in a row, however, this time I was the mentor.  It was an experience completely different than the one I had a year ago.  This time I did not feel like an outsider, but like I was actually a part of this family.

I was one of the lucky mentors.  I was allowed to take two mentees under my wing, although I’m not sure why anyone thought I could be responsible for both of them and myself at the same time.  Either way, we have all survived this far and they are both blessings to my life.  Chase is a nerd in the best way possible and never fails to spice up my life.  Ijeoma is a literal ray of sunshine and can always find a way to put a smile on my face.  Although the three of us are completely different people, our relationship is one of the best things that has happened to me. I look forward to our lunch dates every week and cannot wait to see what these two hold in their futures.

Anyway, back to the retreat.  We spent 2 days in the middle of no where playing basketball, volleyball, doing team building activities, rock climbing and of course, coaching each other on throughout the high ropes course.  I had the opportunity to reconnect with some of my best friends as well as meet new people in everything that I did.  My mentees and I did the most bonding when we went on the high ropes course where we were blindfolded (if we wanted to, which we all did) and told what to do for each obstacle.  I don’t think that I have ever willing put that much trust into two people before, but I am extremely glad I did.  Scaling a rock wall without being able to see is something that I never thought I would do but with these two guiding me, I felt safe.  I also got to guide them while they tried all the obstacles, which was a rewarding experience but in a different way thats hard to describe.

The retreat was a major success and a great way to start out our relationship, as will as build on existing relationships from people from my class.  I am sad that I will no longer to able to go to Eagle Village with the upcoming classes but could not think of a better way to bond with my family.  I am so excited to see what the future holds for everyone in my family, especially my mentees and cannot wait to see them continue to grow.

Leave a Reply

